https://www.italjmed.org/index.php/ijm/issue/feed Italian Journal of Medicine 2019-09-16T20:02:12+02:00 Paola Granata paola.granata@pagepress.org Open Journal Systems <p>The <strong>Italian Journal of Medicine (ITJM)</strong> is the official journal of FADOI, the Federation of Associations of Hospital Doctors on Internal Medicine and focus to describe the complex and variable situations confronted by Internists in daily practice. ITJM aims to promote excellence in the practice of internal medicine in hospitals and to disseminate the results of clinical research in internal medicine departments. The journal also contributes to the updating of hospital internists on general topics concerning public health, including ethical, legal, economical and health policy issues. The <strong>Italian Journal of Medicine (ITJM)</strong> is a quarterly peer-reviewed journal aiming to publish highest-quality material covering original basic and clinical research on all aspects of internal medicine. The Journal includes original clinical research papers, reviews, case reports and specific sections dedicated to clinical pharmacology, chronic diseases, health management. The Italian Journal of Medicine is currently indexed in <a title="Scopus" href="https://www.scopus.com/sourceid/19600165300?origin=sbrowse" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Scopus</a> and <a title="DOAJ" href="https://doaj.org/toc/1877-9352" target="_blank" rel="noopener">DOAJ</a> since September 2009.</p> <p>This journal does not apply the article processing charge&nbsp;to Authors as it is supported by institutional funds.</p> https://www.italjmed.org/index.php/ijm/article/view/itjm.2019.1189 Comparison of aeroallergen sensitisation patterns in the United States and Europe 2019-09-16T20:02:10+02:00 Luca Conti lucaconti91@gmail.com Kelly Gatt kellygatt92@gmail.com Christopher Zammit christopherzammit@hotmail.com Stephen Montefort stevemontefort@gmail.com David Bilocca dbilocca@yahoo.com <p>The global prevalence of allergic diseases have increased considerably and are a major socio-economic burden. Asthma is a complex disease and understanding asthma phenotypes and endotypes could eventually lead to individualised management, and offer better symptom control and quality of life. In this review, we first summarise the pathogenesis of atopic asthma and delve into the assessment of sensitisation to aeroallergens through skin prick testing and serological testing with total and specific immunoglobulin E testing. We will then analyse the distribution of aeroallergen sensitisation patterns in the United States and Europe and its effect on the population. This review gives a comprehensive overview on atopy and it compares the prevalence and effect of atopy within various regions of both continents using data from large multicentre studies. We will conclude this review by discussing the efficacy of add-on treatments in the most prevalent severe asthma phenotypes and endotypes.</p> 2019-09-09T14:35:51+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://www.italjmed.org/index.php/ijm/article/view/itjm.2019.1175 Gender differences in chronic obstructive pulmonary disease: Can be the DRG-based diagnosis the best way for a right analysis? 2019-09-16T20:02:12+02:00 Antonello Nicolini antonellonicolini@gmail.com Giancarlo Garuti garutigica@libero.it Tommaso Perazzo chiccanene@libero.it Paolo Banfi pabanfi56@gmail.com Enrico Clini enrico.clini@unimore.it <p>Not available</p> 2019-09-06T16:32:48+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://www.italjmed.org/index.php/ijm/article/view/itjm.2019.1131 An uncommon case of acute lower limb ischemia 2019-09-16T20:02:12+02:00 Maria Viviana Carlino vivianacarlino@yahoo.it Paola IeranĂ² paolaierano@libero.it Mario Venafro marioven@hotmail.it Claudia Sara Cimmino claudiasarah@gmail.com Costantino Mancusi africans@live.it Francesco Lassandro francesco.lassandro@ospedalideicolli.it Pierluigi Angelini pierluigi.angelini@ospedalideicolli.it Alfonso Sforza alfosfo@hotmail.it Mario Guarino marioguarino63@gmail.com <p>We describe a case of a 76-year-old woman who presented to the Emergency Department with right lower limb pain after a fall. One hour after the admission to the Emergency Department, the patient presented all the signs and symptoms of acute limb ischemia. The patient underwent contrast-enhanced computed tomographic scan of abdomen and right lower limb that showed a large abdominal lesion suggestive of ovarian cancer compressing the right common iliac artery and a visible thrombus and ruptured plaque in this artery. We hypothesized that the acute limb ischemia caused by thrombosis<em> in situ</em> arose from acute plaque rupture probably due to the impact of the large abdominal mass on the artery during patient’s fall.</p> 2019-09-06T16:25:31+02:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement##